Leana de Bruin was awarded the Stonz Jewellers Player of the Year at the 2019 Northern Stars and Northern Comets end of season awards evening held at Woodside Bar, Manukau.

The 2019 Northern Stars captain who this week retired from netball, led her team to their first ever ANZ Premiership grand final appearance on Monday night. De Bruin also picked up the Members Player of Year as voted by Stars season membership holders.

Head coach Kiri Wills highlighted de Bruin’s uncompromising attitude both on and off the court. 

“She inspired her team through sheer guts and determination. She was a handful for all shooters in the competition and worked tirelessly on attack. She is truly a legend of the game.”

Kayla Cullen was also a double award winner, picking up the Players Player of the Year and shared the Matariki award with Charlee Hodges.

Wills added, “following her (Cullen) disappointing 2018 season, she did everything she could to ensure she returned from injury 100% fit and showed her determination to be back out on court at her best.“

Australian import Hodges started the season off the bench, but soon asserted herself as the starting goal attack. Hodges played a pivotal role in supporting Maia Wilson in the shooting circle during the elimination final and grand final.

Livewire wing attack Mila Reuelu-Buchanan was awarded the Emerging Talent award.

The evening was also a chance to celebrate the Northern Comets who competed admirably in the Beko Netball League.

New Zealand Secondary School player Vika Koloto was awarded the emerging talent award.

Stars training partner Oceane Maihi was voted Players Player of the Year as voted by her team mates, with Kirsten Dickson taking home the overall Player of the Year award.


2019 Award Winners

Northern Stars

Emerging Talent – Mila Reuelu-Buchanan

Players Player of the Year – Kayla Cullen

Matariki Award – Kayla Cullen & Charlee Hodges 

Members Player of the Year – Leana de Bruin. Stonz Jewellers Player of the Year – Leana de Bruin


Northern Comets

Emerging Talent – Vika Koloto

Players Player of the Year – Oceane Maihi

Player of the Year – Kirsten Dickson

You might also be interested in...